Information for EEA (European Economic Area) citizens and swiss citizens

In comparison to "third-country" nationals, it is easier for EEA citizens and Swiss citizens to enter and to reside in Austria. This means that you can enter Austria under a visa-free regime and you are allowed to reside in Austria for a period of three months.

As an EEA or a Swiss citizen, you may reside in Austria for more than three months if you:

- are employed or self-employed in Austria or
- have adequate means of subsistence to support yourself and your dependants and have sufficient health insurance coverage for yourself and your family members or
- attend an Austrian school or recognised educational institution as a main purpose of your stay and have sufficient means of subsistence and have a sufficient health insurance coverage.

Required documents:

- completed and signed application form
- valid identity card or passport
- proof of employment (work contract or payslip) or proof of self-employment or
- proof of a health insurance covering all the necessary costs (e.g. European Health Insurance Card, insurance policy) and proof of sufficient finances (e.g. by means of savings or a bank account, traveller's cheques) or
- pupils and students: a confirmation of admission by the school or university and a proof of a health insurance covering all the necessary costs (e.g. European Health Insurance Card, insurance policy) and proof of sufficient finances (e.g. by means of savings or a bank account, traveller's cheques)

PLEASE NOTE:

All persons residing in Austria (citizens, EEA citizens, third-country nationals) are subject to the reporting obligation under the registration law. Anyone taking up residence or giving up residence in Austria is obliged to register his or her current address and de-register with the competent registration authority.

The non-recurring fee for a registration certificate is 15,00 €

Any omission to apply for a registration certificate in due time (within 4 months) will result in a fine of up to 250,00 €

Countries that are obliged to register for such a registration certificate:

Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxemburg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain

Where to apply?

Bezirkshauptmannschaft Landeck, ServiceZone, 6500 Landeck, Innstraße 5

Tel.: 0043 5442/6996-5577 | E-mail: bh.la.servicezone@tirol.gv.at

Monday - Friday from 08:00 - 12:00 and on Tuesday from 08:00 - 16:00 o'clock